An Ordinary World

books, blabberings, and a life semi-common

Daily Archives: 8 May 2011

Happy Mother’s Day

The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness.

– HonorĂ© de Balzac

My mom is amazing. We don’t always see eye to eye but I know she’ll be there when I need her. I don’t do enough for her – or with her – and I’m going to try to change that. I took this photo when she was already in bed, and she wasn’t too pleased but I love her when she’s just natural and relaxed!

20110507-092642.jpg

I’m really happy I was able to come out to LA to visit my grandmother (who I call Lola). When I was younger, she was the one who took care of me – picked me up from elementary school, made me meals, played with me around the house. She wanted me to wait to take her picture because she, too, was ready for bed already and didn’t have any make-up on. But I still think she’s beautiful.

20110507-092850.jpg